## Institute of Transportation Engineers Recognizes USF Faculty and Students for Excellence

**Tampa, Fla. (November 12, 2009)** – Over the past 15 years faculty and students associated with USF's Center for Urban Transportation Research and the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering have earned many honors and plenty of recognition for excellence in the field of transportation engineering. At the annual meeting of the Florida Section of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (FSITE) held in Tampa recently several USF faculty and students received awards for excellence in the field.

**Karen Seggerman**, CUTR Senior Research Associate, was awarded FSITE Transportation Professional of the Year. This award was established in 1999, as a non-annual award, to recognize outstanding contributions to the Florida Section and to the transportation profession. The Florida Section awards the Transportation Professional of the Year Award on a non-annual basis to a truly deserving individual based on professional accomplishments during the previous year.

Other award winners at the meeting were:

Florida ITE Newsletter/Magazine Outstanding Paper Award: **Dr. Pei-Sung Lin**, CUTR Program Director, and **Aldo Fabregas**, CUTR Research Associate, for their Paper, "The Effect of Detection and Communication Failures on Traffic Signal Performance"

Florida Section Student Chapter of the Year Award: Officers include USF Civil Engineering Students Enrique Gonzalez-Velez (President), Tejsingh Rana (Vice President), Nagesh Nayak (Secretary), Zhao Zhang (Treasurer), Hongyun Chen (Past President), Meeta Saxena (Public Relations Chair), and Dr. Pei-Sung Lin, Faculty Advisor.

Second Place in the Florida Section Student Poster Competition: **Enrique Gonzalez-Velez**, for his poster, "Evaluation of Roadway Lighting Illuminance Using an Advanced Lighting Measurement System"

Tampa Bay Chapter, Keith Crawford Undergraduate Transportation Scholarship: Lyndonia Smith.

Each year the District 10 the FSITE recognizes professionals who have gone above and beyond in promoting and exemplifying excellence in the field of transportation. Since 1995, USF faculty and staff have been recognized for transportation excellence eleven times.

## John W. Barr District 10 Transportation Achievement Award

1998 - University of South Florida Center for Urban Transportation Research

## Edward A. Mueller District 10 Transportation Engineer of the Year Award

2005 - Lawrence T. Hagen, P.E., PTOE 1999 - Michael C. Pietrzyk, P.E \*

The University of South Florida is one of the nation's top 63 public research universities and one of only 25 public research universities nationwide with very high research activity that is designated as community engaged by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. USF was awarded \$380.4 million in research contracts and grants in FY 2008/2009. The university offers 232 degree programs at the undergraduate, graduate, specialist and doctoral levels, including the doctor of medicine. The USF System has a \$1.8 billion annual budget, an annual economic impact of \$3.2 billion, and serves more than 47,000 students on institutions/campuses in Tampa, St. Petersburg, Sarasota-Manatee and Lakeland. USF is a member of the Big East Athletic Conference.